The Effect of Colour on Audience Response in Theatre

Haven’t got the plan of the set yet, but as usual my mind is wandering to the colours that the three kitchens need to be. Colour has always been very powerful for me. Put something on a purple background I am likely to like it, it is the colour I feel safe in. Make it a green background and I am running a mile (too many memories of school uniforms).

So colour will play a definite role in Absurd. I know the Hopcroft’s house (Act 1) will be white and yellow, although some people have suggested white and pink but that is just a little too fluffy, Yellow and white for me says cleanliness, exactness and perfectionism, which is how the scene definitely starts, but will the audience think the same way as me or have I got it totally wrong. Research needed…

The effect of colour on Audience Response in Theatre Scenic Design (Thesis by Alison Bell)   Worth a read!

colour1

Leave a Reply

